A fail and a success

Hello everyone! I’m sorry I haven’t blogged for a while. I actually have a bunch of finished projects to show you but I’ve been feeling in a bit of a slump lately and haven’t felt much like taking pics….plus I seem to have lost my camera! Anyway, I decided just to take a few snaps with my mac – hopefully they aren’t too dodgy (urgh they are so dodgy)!

Image

Let’s start with the fail and get that out of the way shall we? I was super excited to make the Madeleine skirt from Victory Patterns – and here is what it was supposed to look like:

Image

There’s pretty much no light in my apartment these days (the sun has disappeared – no! Come back Summer!) but here are a couple of close up shots to show you the details:

20140325-100814.jpg

I was really careful with this make – I made sure everything was cut out beautifully, I pressed all the seams properly, and I was really careful with my top stitching. Granted when you look at it this close it’s a bit wonky, but I’m really proud of it! I freaking love those pockets! I lined them with this awesome print and couldn’t wait to walk everywhere with my hands stuck in ’em.

20140325-100833.jpg

I’m really proud of the zipper too….look how close that is! Perfect! The button hole is less than perfect….I’m still struggling to master them. Let’s just look at the pretty zip and ignore it….ahhh that’s better.

20140325-100846.jpg

So, despite being really careful and focusng on getting all the details correct this turned into a fail. Why? Well, I learnt a big lesson in this – there is a difference between pressing and ironing. Oh yes. The fabric for this skirt is denim with a bit of stretch to it, and it creased a lot, which meant I was ironing it a fair bit between construction. Obviously my ironing enthusiasm did not go very well with the stretch in the fabric, because when I finally finished it and put it on – it was WAY too big.

Image

I’ve thought about taking it in, but the only place to do that really is at the back, which will pull the pockets around to the back and past the sides of my hips which I’m pretty sure will look ridiculous. I think I might have to chalk this up to “experience” and see if any friends want it. I could wear it in the hips instead of the waist but I really dislike wearing skirts on the hip (in fact I never do), it just doesn’t work for my figure.

Let’s move on to the success, just to make myself feel better. It’s another Plaintain tee! Hooray!

Image

I love this pattern so much! It’s getting cooler here (hence the dark pictures) so I made a long sleeved version in a heavier jersey that has some Lycra in it. It’s so comfy! I love it! My favourite part about is…….

Image

Elbow patch! This hand printed patch was given to me by an awesome band from Portland, Oregon called The Underskore Orchestra. They play fantastic gypsy swing and jazz, and they played at the swing dancing social I run here in Adelaide. I’ve been sitting on this patch for a while, waiting for the right place to put it. I decided this was the perfect way to jazz up (haha, see what I did there?) an otherwise plain black tee. I don’t even care that it’s assymetrical – I like it that way! This pattern is such a breeze to whip up. The only adjustment I need to make is to nip the waist in a bit as my waist is a couple of sizes smaller than my hips. The neckline is so flattering and it’s a very easy top to wear. I see many more Plaintain’s in my future. Thanks Deer and Doe!

Image

Stay tuned for my next make – a snuggly hoodie!

Leave a Reply

